top of page

My Trip (so far)

Before I start the whole "My Experience" spiel, I want to introduce this website. This website will only have this one page, because it is an add-on to my main website, "Read". Okay, on to the main reason of this post 😄

ALSO- I am sorry I posted so late. I have been so busy with online courses and family, that I didn't have time to work on this.

My Experience:

So, I arrived to Pakistan about 3 weeks ago, and instantly I could see so many differences from America. The traffic here is terrible. There are traffic lights, but they are of no use. And there are other differences that I will mention later. I have come here so many times, but this trip, I realised how different it is from home. Not just in looks, but the culture, and the people. When I got here, I had the worst jet lag for about a week or so. I would go to sleep at 6 in the morning, and wake up 12 hours later.

It was madness.

When I finally got my sleep schedule back to normal, my family and I went out to go shopping. We came here in the month of Ramadan, close to the end. So, all the shops were filled with people looking for Eid clothes. There were tons of stalls selling henna, and bangles. It was definitely a fun experience.

Internship:

For the past 3 weeks, I have been interning at a school called Rising Sun. It is a special institute for kids with disabilities, like my siblings. We did so many things in those 3 weeks, and it flew by so fast. The first week, we were getting to know the school and the kids, and we toured the school. There are different sections to Rising Sun. There is a Vocational Department; which is where kids make all sorts of art related things. They are taught to make rugs, clothes, jewellery. I even had the opportunity to learn how to dye scarves. Aside from the Vocational Department, there are the Seniors, Juniors, and the CP (Cerebral Palsy) section. For the Senior section, I am not talking like high school type seniors. I'm talking like, they're above 20 years old. I even met one student who was at least older than 35. Those kids were so moody. Sometimes they were happy and giving me high fives, and then they were telling me to go to hell. 😶 I think I had the most fun in the Junior Section. The kids were so loving. They were always excited, and happy to do what we were doing. The second week, we went to a town called Moghulpura. They had another branch of the school there. We went there for three days. The bus ride there was around an hour long, and I got to see so much of old Lahore, and it was so beautiful. The school was smaller, but it was more calm, and less hectic. The second day we went, happened to be my birthday, and one of my friends got me some chocolate. When we got to the other school, a couple of my friends decided to tell the teachers that it was my birthday, and the music teacher sang happy birthday and some other songs, that just made me feel special, yet weird. The bus rides were so fun. I got to see old Lahore, and also get to know the people I was working with. We got close really fast. Every time that I have come to Lahore, I have had no one to hang out with. These were my first friends here, and it is a big deal for me. That's all I'mm going to say right now, and in other posts I will be highlighting specific things I have noticed in my trip.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page