top of page

READ

TAKING ON LIFE ONE BOOK AT A TIME.

"The Princess Saves Herself In This One" by Amanda Lovelace

Hello,

I've been gone for a while, sorry about that! I've been really busy, however I did read some good books; this is one of them.

"The Princess Saves Herself In This One" by Amanda Lovelace is a poetry book about the author's life and the abuse she endured from her mother because of how she looked. She talks about very sensitive topics such as rape, eating disorders and abuse.

Amanda Lovelace's word choice is very powerful in this book. For example:

birds can't fly away when you clip one of their wings. you weren't satisfied with just clipping one of my wings. you tore both out from the root to make sure i could never fly anywhere ever again. - mother & daughter”

I personally love how she came out and talked about the hardships she went through and she wrote it so beautifully. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys poetry. I think that people over 14 or 15 should read this, as the author does mention some very sensitive topics.

I am almost finished reading a book called "Love Hate and Other Filters" by Samira Ahmed, and it is really interesting. I will probably be posting a review in the near future.

x

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page